chevron close close2 close3 hamburger

The mission of the Artists Association of Nantucket is to foster the visual arts on Nantucket. We create a vibrant arts community by promoting, supporting and encouraging the work of Nantucket artists, providing educational programs in the arts, and preserving the legacy of Nantucket artists.

A Legacy of Creativity

AAN was born of necessity. The art colony on island bloomed throughout the 1920s, grew into a staple of the 1930s, and faced a crisis in 1943 when the lone exhibition gallery closed. A visionary patron spearheaded the transformation of an abandoned whaling-era warehouse on Straight Wharf into a new gallery space by the summer of 1945. The core of the art scene, both artists and dedicated patrons, formed the association that year, and our dynamic mission of promoting island artists, providing art education, and collecting Nantucket’s art history has insured the art colony’s future.

During the decades that followed, AAN has showcased fine art in a range from projects by school-aged students to exceptional works by professionals. The association has developed a museum-quality collection of historical island art, built and expanded its educational reach with the construction of the Visual Arts Center, and provided a kick start for many generations of artists.

After 3/4s of a century, AAN remains dedicated to supporting and promoting the visual arts and the artists of Nantucket.

The art colony’s roots can be traced to the arrival of Frank Swift Chase (center), who is supremely influential as a plein air art instructor well into the 1950s.
  • 1920
  • 1930
  • 1945
  • 1950
  • 1960
  • 1970
  • 1977
  • 1988
  • 1997
  • 2005
  • 2015
  • Leadership & Staff

    • Tracey Sears
      Interim Executive Director
    • Robert Frazier
      Artistic Director
    • Olivia Wells
      Development Associate
    • Tom Corper
      Finance Director
    • Liz Hunt O'Brien
      Public Programs Director
    • Elizabeth Buccino
      Director of Education
    • Peter Greenhalgh
      Cecelia Joyce & Seward Johnson Gallery Director
    • Nicci Aguiar
      Digital Arts and Technology Coordinator
    • Angel Evering
      Front Desk Administrator
    • First Lastname
      Member blurb here...
  • Board of Directors

    • Patty Keneally
    • Peter Steingraber
    • Robin Wolpow
    • Kristie Ferrantella
    • Leslie Bresette
      Assistant Treasurer
    • Meghan Weeks
    • Barbara Stern Burke
      Barbara Stern Burke
      Personnel Chair
    • Tracy Ulmer
      Personel Committee
    • Laurie Champion
      Development Co-Chair
    • Janet Joseph
      Janet Joseph
      Development Co-Chair
    • Erika Christensen Scully
      Professional Development Chair
    • Barbara Clarke
      Exhibitions Chair
    • Brian Sager
      Exhibitions Committee
    • Robert Miklos
      Education Chair
    • Maryann Jones
      Education Committee
    • Jennifer Pincince
      Jennifer Pincince
      Salon Series Committee
    • John Lochtefeld
      Director Emeritus
    • Lynn Nicholas
      Director Emeritus
    • Barbara Spitler
      Barbara Spitler
      Director Emeritus
    • First Lastname
      Member blurb here...